KYOTO NOV 2016 – ARASHIYAMA PART 2 (JOJAKKOJI & NISON-IN)

In the 2nd part of the 3 part Arashiyama series, I will be introducing to you 2 temples that I visited. There was one temple that I briefly walked past it since I have been visiting quite a number since morning.

  1. Jojakkoji
  2. Nison-in
  3. Seiroyoji

I was on my way from Okochi Sanso, I can’t help it but stood there and admire this beauty. It should be really good to work around this area or even live around here… The color were amazing.

img_0646

img_0643

img_0650

img_0651

Walking further down, I met 2 ladies who was trying to get a real nice picture of the autumn leaves as the background.

img_0647

I too stayed to take my version of it.

img_0655

And even sat on the ground to take a photo.

img_0661

Nature here was unbelievable. I am in love with it!!!

img_0666

As I continue on the path, I made it to Jojakko ji. Temple was built in 1596. Views were really nice.

Jojakko ji has many maple trees planted. This was how I was greeted by the temple.

img_0669

img_0675

Many visitors tend to visit Arashiyama for bamboo forest and Tenryuji, but they often forgot about the other smaller temples that houses many nice scenery.

img_0682

img_0688

img_0689

Personally, I prefer this over the bamboo forest. Maybe there were less visitors and also the view, like i have said it many times, were good.

img_0690

Onwards to the next temple, Nison in.

img_0709

img_0706

Nison-in is very similar to Jojakkoji and it is slightly larger.

There would be a main hall where visitors have to take off their shoes to take a rest on the floor or visit the main hall for prayers.

img_0700

After that by walking further down from Nison-in, you will get to see the main hall of Seiroyoji

img_0710

I just took a photo of it and did not visit it.

img_0711

In Kyoto, especially Arashiyama, you will see rickshaw pullers trying to negotiate a deal with the locals or someone who understand Japanese. They would usually target couples probably they could earn more. I walked past many of them more than 10 times but none approached me. They also do some introduction about the locations as I overheard some of them while pulling their customers for a scenic ride.

After so these many visits to temples, I decided to walk to Togetsukyo Hashi (Bridge). It was really crowded so I decided to make a stop at a random tempura shop and bought a cheese ball. It was considered the best seller and they have a queue that did not seem to stop.

img_0713

Give it a try if you are at Arashiyama.

After that, I continue my brisk walk to Togetsukyo bridge and on to the final temple of the day.

Leave a Reply

