Let’s go Tokyo 2015/1/14

On the 4th day of my Let’s go Tokyo, I found myself traveling to Kamakura in the morning.

There is a direct JR to Kamakura from Shinjuku station if you are at the right timing. I must thank my legs for not feeling well the day before. This allowed me to have an extra hour of rest and my legs miraculously recovered from the pain.

If you are at Shinjuku station, look out for JR Shonan-Shinjuku line that have direct travel to Kamakura after 830am. Before that, you may need to do a change at Yokohama or Ofuna station.

Kamakura is a location that is full of zen. With the most temples around Tokyo, I visited 3 different themed temples. My first stop was Hokokuji temple. This temple is a bamboo themed temple. In order to travel there, you have to take either bus 23/24/36 from Kamakura East bus station and alight 6 stops after that. There are screen display of which stops you are at if you aren’t sure where you are. They also display the price to pay on the screen as well.

How to pay the bus fare is exactly the same as how you do when you are in Singapore. Tap your bus card at the back, tap the card at the front when exit. If you don’t use card, you would have to pay when you are alighting which is at the front as well.

IMG_1868

To visit Hokokuji temple, you are required to pay an admission fee of 300 yen. You can also have ocha at the cost of 500 yen. I didn’t get the ocha as 500 yen for just ocha is just to expensive. But if you would like to purchase one, you can have a good photo shoot at the “canteen” with the ocha bowl. With a friend will look nice if you know how to take the picture.

IMG_1878 IMG_1879

The next stop is Hase dera. To travel to hase dera, all you need to do is to board the subway at Kamakura station. Its a round trip subway, alight at Hase station and look for the signs to go there.

IMG_1900 IMG_1907 IMG_1914 IMG_1917

Kotoku-in temple is approximately 350m away from where Hase dera is. There are also signboard to help you reach the temple. For 200 yen for admission.

IMG_1919 IMG_1935

After that, I went back to Kamakura taking the same direct train back to Osaki station instead as I am heading to Odaiba.

IMG_1951

I had lunch at the top level of DiverCity plaza. I tried the Tonkatsu set. The whole shop was very quiet and I saw a Japanese lady reading her books after her meal. I guess because of the free flow drink that’s why.

IMG_1953

After that I walked around the plaza. They have a Gundam out there!

IMG_1956 IMG_1958 IMG_1960

Fuji Tv was up next. It was a kind of a wasted trip there as I can’t travel up to level 24 for sky view. Level 25 is the level where I have to pay, so I thought probably I just browse through this place for less than 30 minutes.

IMG_1967

I spent sometime at the Decks of Tokyo building for awhile as it was really cold out there.

IMG_1968 IMG_1970

After that, I walked down to Toyota Megaweb History garage. If you like cars and especially history car, don’t miss this and its for FREE! You can view a lot of different cars and totally worth the time.

IMG_1981

I head over to venus fort after that. Venus fort is more like a European style shopping mall. You can see a lot of brands from Europe and even the mall is designed in such a way.

IMG_2004 IMG_2014 IMG_2019

Finally, I have no idea what else to do and it was only around 5pm. I decide to make my way back to Divercity to look at the night view and my camera isn’t really awesome to take pictures at night so if you are on my Facebook, you should be able to see them.

Since the hotel I stayed in has a line that was linked with Shibuya, I went Shibuya for an early dinner.

That ends my 4th day in Tokyo.

Leave a Reply

